Useful Information for Tourists

Entry rules

A visa is required for entering Armenia. The Republic of Armenia has agreements on mutual non-visa entry with Russia, Georgia, Ukraine, Moldova, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. Armenia also has agreements with Bulgaria, Hungry, Romania and Cuba (visitors from these countries need an official invitation from the inviting institution or, if the visitor is invited by an individual, an invitation letter provided by the ministry of inner affairs). In all cases it is necessary to have a valid international passport when entering the country. Visas are provided:

a) In Armenian embassies

b) At Armenian airports and border points upon arrival

c) On-line through

The following types of visas are available:

a) Transit visa – up to 3 days

b) Tourist visa – up to 21 days

c) Long Term visa – up to 3 months

d) Diplomatic visa – for the mission period


The official currency of Armenia is the Armenian Dram (AMD). 500, 1000, 5000, 10,000, 20,000 and 50,000 dram bills are in circulation. 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 dram coins are also used. Tourists can easily exchange USD, Euro and Russian Ruble into AMD. Other currencies also can be exchanged into AMD, however not in all currency exchange offices and therefore it is recommended to have USD, Euro or Russian Ruble during a trip to Armenia.

Emergency phone numbers

Fire 1 01

Police 1 02

Ambulance 1 03

Rescue team 1 18

Useful Telephone Numbers

Local and international call orders 1 05 or 1 07

Telephone directory 1 09

Telephone codes

Armenia 374

Yerevan 10